Skip to content

Pope House Bourbon Lounge – a great spot, even if Jack D. isn’t your man.

April 3, 2010

I drive by Pope House Bourbon Lounge everyday after work, and last night, I finally got the chance to check it out. I had heard good things about this Northwest nook (happy hour until until 7 on weekdays and all day on Sunday!) I’m always on the look out for fun new spots, and in Pope House, I’ve definitely found one.

Their limited dinner menu focuses on comfort food: mac and cheese and fried chicken are among the choices. But if you’re looking for something slightly lighter, I’ve heard the pulled pork quesadilla is incredible (this is also included on their happy hour menu for just $5).

As expected, whiskey is the highlight of the drink menu, so if you’re looking for a pint of good Portland beer, Pope House probably isn’t yo house. But if whiskey is your drink, you, my friend, will be in heaven, since they pride themselves on an impressive selection of more than 100 (yeah, I’m not kidding, 100) different kinds of whiskey.

The building itself is a renovated NW Portland Victorian with an upscale but relaxed and cozy feel. If you’re looking for a low-key place for a drink and conversation with a small group of friends, hit up the Pope. If you’re in the mood for a high-energy spot for meeting new people and mingling (all you single ladies), I would look elsewhere.

Overall, I really liked Pope House for a relaxed get together. And, the next time my whiskey loving best friend is in town, I will make sure we swing by for a quick drink and a bite before heading out on the town.

Ps: if you’re looking for a cheap start to your night without having to lower your standards on atmosphere, a hidden gem of Pope House is $2 Pabst Pounders, every day, all the time. Love it.

2075 Glisan Street, Northwest

Leave a Reply

