Skip to content

Just Your Friendly Neighborhood Tavern?

July 5, 2010

Last week, I had the honor of grabbing happy hour with one of my favorite Portland bloggers, ShoppingsMyCardio at 23Hoyt in Northwest on, well, 23rd and Hoyt. They tout themselves as a “New American Tavern” but when I walk in, “tavern” is the last thing that comes to mind. Luckily, their great happy hour menu and helpful staff make me forget whatever I was initially expecting.

In case you haven’t already noticed by reading this blog, I’m a beer and wine type of gal, so their cocktail-heavy happy hour selections left me wanting more. They offer their house selection of white and red – yes, just one selection – for $5 and a “bartender’s choice” beer for $3. This once again reminds me that “tavern” is a bit of a stretch. Either way…

Their happy hour food is reasonably priced, ranging from $1-5 and can definitely be combined to make quite a meal for under $10. We had an order of their super-thin french fries with whole grain mustard aioli and amazing fried green beans with a spicy mayo concoction that was so good I would have bathed in it.

Overall, I enjoyed the airy and classic feel of 23Hoyt, which seems to attract many young and stylish Portlanders. So, if you’re looking for a great place for a quiet happy hour with your fabulous friends, 23Hoyt is the spot for you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

