Skip to content

I Love a Good Preview…

July 10, 2010

Last week, I attended a preview tasting for the Best of Oregon Food and Wine Festival, thrown by the amazing Pravia Wine and Events (you might remember them from Pinot in the Pearl).

The event brought me to the Red Star Tavern and Roast House downtown, which, I have to say, I really liked – but that’s for another post. The tasting featured wine from five Oregon wineries, including ADEA, VX and Willamette Valley. The food was provided by Red Star and featured some of the most amazing Dungeness crab cakes I’ve ever eaten, plus several other tasty treats.

Let’s be clear, I’m not a wine connoisseur. I’m just your garden variety drinker. But during events like this, I’m always determined to judge the best wine of the night, and at this preview, there were some major contenders. Top of my list were ADEA’s Chardonnay, a Pinot Gris from VX and Willamette Valley’s Pinot Noir. (Next time, I promise, I will remember the vintages). Aside from the wine itself, I really enjoyed the intimate nature of the event, which allowed time to chat with the reps from the wineries and learn more about their offerings.

Overall, I had a great time tasting my way around Oregon. And after this preview, I’m definitely counting the days until the Best of Oregon Festival (36 – do the math). To hold us over until then, there are two more preview tastings – follow @BestofOregon for details!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

